Alpha DeepBlue: Based off of the DirecTV Blue Interface
Let me just take a moment to say:
  1. I'm shocked there was never a broken down tutorial out there on Kodi Skinning, so I made a very rough one on YouTube.
  2. I'm also shocked nobody's thought of this yet, so here we go Smile
  3. I still need help. I feel like I could be doing better with Kodi, plus I'm not a designer.
I have been OBSESSED With DirecTV ever since they released their Ocean Blue interface in the mid/late 2000s with their HD DVRs. I tried to beg my parents to get us DirecTV back in the day with no luck. Once I started making adult money, it was too late (AT&T bought them & revamped everything).

So then BAM! I finally finished my Master's so I found time to make my own Kodi Skin. Surprisingly off to a good/easy start. I'd say I'm comfortable enough with my vision to the point that I can release source code, images, videos, and progress Smile. Something about this User Interface that I can't just leave behind or forget. Of all the Cable Box User Interface, this has to be the ABSOLUTE KING! I was never fond of TiVo UI. Comcast X1 comes close, but this UI is straight up GOD TIER! I mean just LOOK AT IT GUYS! Everytime I look at this, I feel like I'm at a beach house!

Walkthrough video: https://youtu.be/8Nko1Uv-Hio
Screen capture of the real thing: https://youtu.be/cEasOlyBUCs
Source Code: https://github.com/UVGrade/skin.DeepBlue
Please send merge requests to "Alpha" branch if any

The main menu Smile

I think this is pretty straightforward enough. All the options are on the left-hand side. I duplicated this skin from Estuary so alot of similarities from there.
I think I'll keep things the same here. but I do want to make changes to the "Search" view and the "Settings" view on the right side. The "Exit" button for power off & all are at the bottom of the list.